A New Challenge pt1

I’ve been toying with the idea of making clothes for a while. I’ve made cushion covers, curtains and bags before as well as free-machine embroidery but I have never used a dressmaking pattern. I took advantage of the sale in my local fabric store and bought a pattern, fabric and a zip (although I forgot the zip first time round and had to go back).

I inherited all my mum’s and gran’s sewing stuff and I already have a good sewing machine. How hard can this be?

IMG_1751
Note that big word on the front of the pattern “EASY”. Yep, OK.

I just bought cheap 100% viscose fabric and lining so 4.5m of each cost me around £10 and the pattern was £8.95. I have decided that since the main fabric is quite thin, I will line the skirt section as well as the bodice. I like to make things harder for myself 🙂

I spent nearly an entire day cutting, ironing and prepping the pattern and then cutting the fabric pieces out. I made a mistake on the very first bit though as I didn’t have the grain line going the correct way. Thankfully I was able to recut the piece and use the reject piece to cut the smaller bodice pieces from. Not a great start but I’ve never done this before. I kept getting mixed up between right/wrong side pattern/fabric. The lining I can’t tell which is the right and wrong side so I gave up worrying about it.

Today I have started the actual sewing, not without some trepidation I have to add. I’m not sure if it’s nerves or excitement, but I am constantly dropping pins on the floor. Maybe it’s just age…

IMG_1758
I think I have everything I need (except, perhaps, knowledge and ability). I even bought a new ironing board cover for the occasion!

IMG_1759
I’m being methodical and ticking off each instruction as I do it but it took me about 2 hours just to do the very first one! This could take a wee while.

IMG_1760
OK, don’t laugh but I made a clever discovery. The sewing machine plate has seam allowance numbers on it!! I never noticed this before and was trying to measure and mark them with a ruler and chalk. Things may go slightly faster now.

IMG_1762
I’m amazed that the pieces are actually pretty much the same shape, I know it shouldn’t surprise me since they are cut from the same pattern piece, but it’s a minor miracle to me. I’m happy with doing the straight seams, that should all be fine but not liking the look of the curvy underarm seam at all.

IMG_1763
WOOT! No need to panic, I managed it.

IMG_1764
Now I am stuck. UNDERSTITCH? I’m hoping Google has the answer and a helpful YouTube video would be good.

I need to stop for today sadly as it’s time to head off to work. It’s going to be a few days before I get the chance to continue this project so I’ll have totally forgotten what I was doing by then.

About arlakean

Freelance lighting technician, student of graphic design, model horse repairer, avid knitter, part-time lady and new blogger… there isn't a lot I don't do.
This entry was posted in Crafts, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Challenge pt1

  1. Kerri says:

    Welcome to the world of making your own clothing. It looks like you’re off to a great start! I didn’t laugh, but your discovery of the seam allowance lines on your sewing machine did make me smile. 🙂
    Thank you for your return visit to my blog and leaving “likes.”

  2. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award / The Very Inspiring Blogger Award « tailorfairy

  3. tailorfairy says:

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award / The Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://tailorfairy.com/2013/02/17/one-lovely-blog-award-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

